Halifax Resolves Chapter History

The Halifax Resolves Chapter, North Carolina Society, Sons of the American Revolution was chartered April 12th, 2003 and was organized by Steven F. Avent at the urging of NCSSAR Eastern Vice President Joe E. Harris. **Charter members were:**

Steven F. Avent

James Becker

Joe E. Harris, Jr.

Robert L. Bowen

Dr. Cleveland Hawkins

Lee W. Porter

Walter W. Brewster

Franklin N. Horton

Randy D. Steele

C. R. Casey Wallace G. Johnson Dr. Rhoderick Williams Harry K. Goodman Larry McClanahan Rev. A. Clark Wiser

Of the eighteen (18) original members, four (4) are still members, two (2) of whom are associate members. (As of November 2012)

Chapter Officers

The first officers elected by the Chapter for 2003-2006 were:

President: Steve Avent Vice President: Rhoderick Williams

Secretary/Treasurer: Dr. Cleveland Hawkins Registrar: Frank Horton

Chaplain: Rev. Clark Wiser

Officers elected for 2006-2008 were:

President: Dr. Cleveland Hawkins

Vice President: *Dr. C. Edwin Garner

*(Comp. Garner resigned in 2006, moving out of State)

Vice President: *Ron Jones (as of Nov. 06)

Secretary/Treasurer: Steve Avent Registrar: Frank Horton

Chaplain: Rev. Duncan Jones



2006-2008 Officers: (L-R) VP Dr. C. Edwin Garner, Pres. Dr. Cleveland Hawkins, Sec.-Treas. Steve Avent and Eastern NC Vice President Steve Pittard

Officers elected for 2008-2009 are:

President: Ron Jones Vice President: Ken Wilson Secretary/Treasurer: Steve Avent

Registrar: Frank Horton Chaplain: Rev. Duncan Jones



Installation of the 2008-2009 Officers.

L-R: Sec-Treas. Steven F. Avent, VP C.K. "Ken" Wilson, Pres. Ron Jones and NCSSAR Pres. Dr. Samuel C. Powell

Officers elected for 2010-2011 are:

President: Ken Wilson Vice President: David Hoaglan (resigned 6 Feb '10)

Secretary/Treasurer: Steve Avent Registrar: R. Allen Brahin

Chaplain: Rev. Duncan Jones



2010-2011 Officers - NCSSAR President Franklin N. Horton assisted by NSSAR South Atlantic VPG Dr. Samuel C. Powell installed new Chapter officers: (L-R) President Mr. Ken Wilson, Sec.-Treas. Mr. Steven F. Avent, Chaplain Rev. Duncan Jones, VP Mr. David R. Hoaglan and Registrar Mr. R. Allen Brahin

Officers elected for 2012-2013 are:

President: Ken Wilson Vic. Secretary/Treasurer: Steve Avent Reg

Chaplain: Rev. Duncan Jones

Vice President: (Vacant) Registrar: R. Allen Brahin



2012-2013 Officers - (L-R) Sec.-Treas. Steve Avent, Chaplain Rev. Duncan Jones, President Ken Wilson and NCSSAR President G. Steven Pittard who administered the oath. Not shown Registrar R. Allen Brahin.

Officers elected for 2014-2015 are:

President: Geoff Pittard Vice President: R.J. Myrick Secretary/Treasurer: Steve Avent

Registrar: R. Allen Brahin Chaplain: Rev. Duncan Jones



2014-2015 Officers – (L-R) President Geoff Pittard, Chaplain Rev. Duncan Jones, Sec.-Treas. Steve Avent, Vice President R.J. Myrick, Registrar R. Allen Brahin and Immediate Past President Ken Wilson.

Officers elected for 2016-2017 are:

President: Ken Wilson Vice President: R.J. Myrick Secretary/Treasurer: Steve Avent

(Resigned May 2017)

Registrar: R. Allen Brahin Chaplain: Rev. Duncan Jones



2016-2017 Officers – (L-R) NC SAR President Tim Berly installs chapter officers President Ken Wilson, Sec.-Treas. Steve Avent, VP R.J. Myrick, Chaplain Rev. Duncan Jones and Registrar R. Allen Brahin.

Officers elected for 2018-2019 are:

President: David B. Gammon Vice President: Geoff Pittard

Secretary/Treasurer: Steve Avent Chaplain: Rev. Duncan Jones

